Vanessa's Recipes

Tomato Chicken

So, there I stood in the kitchen, staring at the chicken breasts I’d thawed a couple of days ago.  What to do, what to do?

I found: tomatoes that needed to be used soon; a little can of tomato paste; a jar of mayo that needed that last bit used up; and some mozzarella cheese that wasn’t so great for snacking but would be good for cooking.

This is what I came up with.

image

I mixed the tomato paste with some mayo, roughly equal parts, maybe more mayo than tomato paste.  Added some cream, just a splash to make mixing easier.  To that I added a hint of garlic, some parsley, and some basil.  I spooned that over the  chicken, put slices of tomato on top, topped that with slices of mozzarella, and then generously topped the whole thing off with parmesan. 

It turned out pretty well.  I think you could substitute the mayo with cottage cheese, ricotta, even sour cream.  I just happened to have mayo on hand.  And certainly you could add more herbs if you wanted a stronger Italian flavor.

Plus, it’s Atkins (low carb) friendly.  Smile

~~Ness~~ 

Comments on: "Tomato Chicken" (2)

  1. I remember this! We should have this again sometime! We could add some fats in olive oil to the sauce to make it more ketogenic and certainly can use things to top like avocado (ick) and black olives (but I know you don’t like ’em).

    You’ve got a couple of GREAT ones to play with — let’s put ’em back in PLAY! 😀

    Like

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

