Vanessa's Recipes

This is a great cool and refreshing salad for warmer months.  Of course, eating it in a nice cozy place in the Winter is great too.  😉

image

 

4 boneless/skinless chicken breasts, cooked, cut into small pieces – roughly 1/2 inch cubes
1 lb rotini (corkscrew) pasta, cooked to al dente
2 cups green seedless grapes 
1/4 medium onion, chopped fine
2-4 cloves of garlic, minced (I like 4, 1 per chicken breast)
2-4 stalks of celery, chopped fine – again, it’s a “to taste” thing – I usually go with 3
1 cup real mayo
1 cup cole slaw sauce – Marzetti’s brand if it’s available is my favorite
salt and pepper to taste

I tend to prepare all the cold ingredients – everything but the chicken and pasta – and toss them into a big bowl and mix.  I don’t add the chicken until it’s cooled to at least room temperature or I chill it in the fridge before adding.

I rinse the pasta with cold water after cooking and let it drain really well so the dressings stick to it.

Then I toss everything together.  It’s better after chilling overnight, but my willpower usually isn’t that strong.  😉

Comments on: "Great Grapey Summery Salad" (3)

  1. We had this last night – it’s great!

    Yay! I’m so glad you liked it! Now I can tell my husband I’m not the only one in the world who likes it. 😉

    Like

  2. You could also use grape seed oil and replace the mayo.

    Like

    • Perhaps if you decide to try it that way, you’ll let us know what you thought of it. 🙂 I”m sure it would change the flavor considerably.

      Not sure why you’d do that though, since there is no difference in fat levels, and the omega-6 fats (and inflammation) are much worse with the grape seed oil.

      Sadly, this favorite recipe of mine is no longer on my “eating plan” since I’ve gone to a ketogenic diet. Perhaps I’ll get to indulge again one day. 🙂
      ~Ness

      Like

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

